Domestic Violence Is A Crime

Domestic Violence Is A Crime

What is Domestic Violence ?

The Georgia code defines domestic violence as any felony, battery, simple battery, simple assault, assault, stalking, criminal damage to property, unlawful restraint and criminal trespass between past or present spouses, persons who are parents of the same child, parents and children, stepparents and stepchildren, foster parents and foster children and persons living or formerly living in the same household. (O.C.G.A. §19-13-1)

Domestic violence is a pattern of battering behavior used to establish power and control over an intimate partner or family member. …

Read More »

Georgia’s Texting While Driving Ban & No Cell Phones For Teen Drivers

Georgia’s Texting While Driving Ban & No Cell Phones For Teen Drivers

According to national studies, approximately 22 percent of all crashes and 16 percent of all fatal crashes were caused by some form of distraction occurring within three seconds of the crash.  Thirty-seven percent of drivers in a Georgia survey admit texting while they drive.

Effective July 1, 2010, Georgia law states that no person who is 18 years of age or older or who has a Class C license shall operate a motor vehicle on any public road or highway of this state while using a …

Read More »

Teenage & Adult Driver Responsibility Act

Teenage & Adult Driver Responsibility Act

Below is a summary of the major legislative provisions concerning DUI and teen driving laws. We hope that you find this summary a useful guide.
If you have any questions please feel free to contact  the Office of the Solicitor General.

1.  Nolo Contendere Plea will be treated as a conviction for any DUI.
Previously, some DUI violators could save their driver’s license by pleading Nolo Contendere (no contest). Now Nolo Contendere pleas are considered as convictions for all DUI arrests.
2.  Zero tolerance for alcohol …

Read More »

Super Speeder Law

Super Speeder Law

This law went into effect on January 1, 2010 and tacks on additional $200 state fines for any driver convicted of speeding at:

75 MPH or more on any two lane road, or

85 MPH or more anywhere in Georgia

Failure to pay the Super Speeder fine results in an additional $50 fine and the suspension of the offender’s driving privileges and license.

Fees collected under the new Super Speeder Law will be used to help fund Georgia’s trauma care hospital system where approximately 60% of all trauma care …

Read More »