Georgia’s Texting While Driving Ban & No Cell Phones For Teen Drivers

Georgia’s Texting While Driving Ban & No Cell Phones For Teen Drivers

According to national studies, approximately 22 percent of all crashes and 16 percent of all fatal crashes were caused by some form of distraction occurring within three seconds of the crash.  Thirty-seven percent of drivers in a Georgia survey admit texting while they drive.

Effective July 1, 2010, Georgia law states that no person who is 18 years of age or older or who has a Class C license shall operate a motor vehicle on any public road or highway of this state while using a wireless telecommunications device.  Under this law, drivers cannot write, send or read a text message, email, or use the internet on any wireless device while driving.  This includes texting at red lights or turn lanes.

The rare exceptions are reserved for reporting crimes, accidents, and emergencies.  Penalties for breaking this law include a $150 fine and 1 point on your driving record.

Georgia has also implemented a TOTAL CELL PHONE BAN while driving for all drivers under the age of 18 with instruction permits or Class D licenses.  Violators are subject to a$150 fine and 1 point on the driving record.

This post was written by

Leave Your Comment